top
California
California
Indybay
Indybay
Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz
Indybay
Regions
Indybay Regions North Coast Central Valley North Bay East Bay South Bay San Francisco Peninsula Santa Cruz IMC - Independent Media Center for the Monterey Bay Area North Coast Central Valley North Bay East Bay South Bay San Francisco Peninsula Santa Cruz IMC - Independent Media Center for the Monterey Bay Area California United States International Americas Haiti Iraq Palestine Afghanistan
Topics
Newswire
Calendar
Features
From the Open-Publishing Calendar
From the Open-Publishing Newswire
Indybay Feature
View events for the week of 4/ 3/2021
150 years since the Paris Commune
Date Saturday April 03
Time 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Event Type Class/Workshop
Organizer/AuthorWorld Socialist Web Site
Location Details
An online meeting streamed at wsws.org/live
On March 18, 1871, workers in Paris rose up to stop an attempt by the French army to steal cannons that had been purchased for the city’s defense in the 1870-1871 Franco-Prussian war. The French government of Adolphe Thiers fled the city in panic, and power passed into the hands of the armed working class. Elections were held on March 26 that created the Paris Commune, the first workers state in history.

The Commune was an entirely new form of state power that set out to build a classless society based on equality. But in the infamous Bloody Week of May 21-28, Thiers and the French army stormed Paris with heavy artillery—indiscriminately murdering men, women and children suspected of having fought for, participated in or sympathized with the Commune.

At enormous cost in blood, the Commune lives on as a priceless experience for the international working class of today, whose lives, health, and living standards depend on their struggle for state power in every country.
The speakers will include David North, Alex Lantier, and more to be announced.



Saturday
April 3
10:00 AM
US Pacific Time

Saturday
April 3
1:00 PM
US Eastern Time

Time zone Conversions:

Mexico City: 11am, Saturday, April 3
London: 6pm, Saturday, April 3
Paris: 7pm, Saturday, April 3
Istanbul: 8pm, Saturday, April 3
Mumbai: 10:30pm, Saturday, April 3
Beijing: 1am, Sunday, April 4
Sydney: 3am, Sunday, April 4
sm_paris_commune-barricades.jpg

Added to the calendar on Friday Apr 2nd, 2021 10:24 AM
We are 100% volunteer and depend on your participation to sustain our efforts!

Donate

donate now

$ 130.00 donated
in the past month

Get Involved

If you'd like to help with maintaining or developing the website, contact us.

Publish

Publish your stories and upcoming events on Indybay.

IMC Network