top
San Francisco
San Francisco
Newswire
Calendar
Features
From the Open-Publishing Calendar
From the Open-Publishing Newswire
Indybay Feature
Related Categories: San Francisco
View other events for the week of 5/ 6/2002
STOP CLEAR CHANNEL TAKEOVER OF NEWSPAPER DISTRIBUTION IN SF
Date Monday May 06
Time 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Location Details
City Hall Steps facing Plaza (not Van Ness side)
Event Type Other
Organizer/AuthorMedia Alliance
***TAKE ACTION NOW*** Please Distribute Please join us for a press conference and generally noisy event on the steps of SF's City Hall - Monday May 6 Noon WITH Willie Ratcliff-Publisher SF Bayview, Bruce Brugmann-Publisher SF Guardian, Davey-D - former PA director at ClearChannel radio station KMEL-FM and others! Media behemoth ClearChannel Communications - one of the largest and most criticized media companies in the U.S. - isn't content with dominating the nation's radio airwaves, billboards, and concert venues. On Monday, in a precedent-setting case with national implications, SF's Supervisors are about to hand over gatekeeper status for the city's newspaper distribution to ClearChannel subsidiary Adshel - without so much as a public comment period. It's troubling enough that elected representatives would allow a for- profit corporation to determine which publications can be distributed in public spaces, and to allow them to profit from the process by posting advertising up to 18 feet long on the backside of the kiosks. But the contract is just plain awful in other ways too - it locks the city into a 20 year contract with no money at all from ClearChannel to pay for the administrative costs of the program. This deal is not in the public's interest. It is bad for our media landscape. WE DEMAND a slow-down of this process to include a full public hearing on the implications of this law locally and nationally, and testimony on ClearChannel's monopolistic and anti-competitive policies (as thoroughly documented by Salon.com's Eric Boehlert, CONTACT YOUR SUPERVISOR: Whether or not you can make it to City Hall on Monday and Tuesday, PLEASE call or email at least two supervisors AND TELL THEM NOT TO LET HUGE MEDIA CONGLOMERATES STRANGLE INDEPENDENT MEDIA IN OUR CITY! Tom Ammiano, Tom.Ammiano@sfgov.org, 415-554-5144 Chris Daly, Chris.Daly@sfgov.org, 415-554-7970 Matt Gonzalez, Matt.Gonzalez@sfgov.org, 415-554-7630 Tony Hall, Tony.Hall@sfgov.org, 415-554-6516 Mark Leno, Mark.Leno@sfgov.org, 415-554-7734 Sophie Maxwell, Sophie.Maxwell@sfgov.org, 415-554-7670 Jake McGoldrick, Jake.McGoldrick@sfgov.org, 415-554-7410 Gavin Newsom, Gavin.Newsom@sfgov.org, 415-554-5942 Aaron Peskin, Aaron.Peskin@sfgov.org, 415-554-7450 Gerardo Sandoval, Gerardo.Sandoval@sfgov.org,415-554-6975 Leland Yee, Leland.Yee@sfgov.org, 415-554-7752 ############################################################# This message is sent to you because you are subscribed to the Media Alliance mailing list . To unsubscribe, E-mail to: To switch to the DIGEST mode, E-mail to To switch to the INDEX mode, E-mail to Send administrative queries to
Added to the calendar on Tuesday Feb 3rd, 2004 10:24 AM

We are 100% volunteer and depend on your participation to sustain our efforts!

Donate

donate now

$ 98.00 donated
in the past month

Get Involved

If you'd like to help with maintaining or developing the website, contact us.

Publish

Publish your stories and upcoming events on Indybay.

IMC Network