top
US
US
Indybay
Indybay
Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz
Indybay
Regions
Indybay Regions North Coast Central Valley North Bay East Bay South Bay San Francisco Peninsula Santa Cruz IMC - Independent Media Center for the Monterey Bay Area North Coast Central Valley North Bay East Bay South Bay San Francisco Peninsula Santa Cruz IMC - Independent Media Center for the Monterey Bay Area California United States International Americas Haiti Iraq Palestine Afghanistan
Topics
Newswire
Calendar
Features
From the Open-Publishing Calendar
From the Open-Publishing Newswire
Indybay Feature
Related Categories: U.S. | Racial Justice
View events for the week of 11/29/2021
Pillage by Arbitration: The Deep Injustices of Mining Companies Against Indigenous Lands
Date Monday November 29
Time 11:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Event Type Panel Discussion
Organizer/AuthorInstitute for Policy Studies
Location Details
Virtual forum via Zoom
Time: 11am PST / 1pm Mexico & Guatemala / 2pm EST & Colombia / 7pm UK

More info: https://ips-dc.org/events/pillage-by-arbitration/

REGISTER HERE: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_KdLntIt4RG66go3zIdlmEg


Join us to talk with grassroots movements in Colombia and Guatemala about their struggles and the dangers and injustices of Investor State Dispute Settlement (ISDS) enshrined in the Canada Colombia Free Trade Agreement and thousands of other international investment agreements worldwide.

We will discuss how they threaten Indigenous territories, water and sovereignty, as well as what we can do to support their movements and take greater action at home.

SPEAKERS:

--Stuart Trew, Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives (CCPA)

--Juan Camilo Sarmiento, Committee for the Defence of Water and the Páramo of Santurbán (Colombia)

--Jakeline Romero Epiayu, Wayuu Women’s Force (Colombia)

--José Angel Llamas, Peaceful Resistance of La Puya (Guatemala)

--Diana Salazar, London Mining Network

Moderators:

--Aldo Orellana López, Terra Justa

--Jen Moore, Institute for Policy Studies – Global Economy Program
screenshot_2021-11-22_at_10-32-27_pillage_by_arbitration_-_institute_for_policy_studies.png
Added to the calendar on Monday Nov 22nd, 2021 10:32 AM
§
by Institute for Policy Studies
Monday Nov 22nd, 2021 10:32 AM
screenshot_2021-11-04_at_17-43-58_book_talk_the_strong_black_woman_with_marita_golden_-_institute_for_policy_studies.png
We are 100% volunteer and depend on your participation to sustain our efforts!

Donate

donate now

$ 327.00 donated
in the past month

Get Involved

If you'd like to help with maintaining or developing the website, contact us.

Publish

Publish your stories and upcoming events on Indybay.

IMC Network