top
International
International
Indybay
Indybay
Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz
Indybay
Regions
Indybay Regions North Coast Central Valley North Bay East Bay South Bay San Francisco Peninsula Santa Cruz IMC - Independent Media Center for the Monterey Bay Area North Coast Central Valley North Bay East Bay South Bay San Francisco Peninsula Santa Cruz IMC - Independent Media Center for the Monterey Bay Area California United States International Americas Haiti Iraq Palestine Afghanistan
Topics
Newswire
Calendar
Features
From the Open-Publishing Calendar
From the Open-Publishing Newswire
Indybay Feature
View events for the week of 8/22/2021
For a global strategy to stop the pandemic and save lives!
Date Sunday August 22
Time 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Event Type Panel Discussion
Organizer/AuthorWorld Socialist Web Site
Location Details
An online meeting streamed at wsws.org/live
On Sunday, August 22, the World Socialist Web Site is hosting an online event featuring leading scientists from around the world. It will discuss and outline the realistic and achievable measures that must be taken to eradicate the coronavirus, stop the wave of death and end the pandemic. Its aim is to provide the public with the information and knowledge it needs to initiate a broad-based and determined world-wide popular movement to end the pandemic and reclaim the future.

This event will feature three distinguished scientists who have been in the forefront of the global fight for eradication: Professor Yaneer Bar-Yam, Dr. Deepti Gurdasani and Professor Michael Baker. It will be moderated by World Socialist Web Site Editor David North.

The COVID-19 pandemic is escalating. Amid the global spread of the Delta variant, the number of daily new cases is approaching all-time highs. There are growing reports of breakthrough infections. Most ominously, the virus is infecting children in alarming numbers, resulting in long-term debilitation and even death.

Inadequate and even blatantly wrong policies have allowed the virus to spread and mutate into more infectious and vaccine-resistant variants. The drive to fully reopen schools worldwide, even as the virus spreads out of control, is socially irresponsible and ignores the scientifically established facts about viral transmission.

Current media talk about “learning to live with the pandemic” not only underestimates the extreme danger posed by a highly infectious virus. It also justifies the refusal to take the measures that are necessary to stop viral transmission and end the pandemic.

The world faces a stark alternative: Either the eradication of COVID-19 or the continuation of the pandemic for years to come, resulting in the long-term debilitation and deaths of millions of infected people.

Only the first alternative is acceptable. Without eradication, there can be no safe workplace, let alone a safe “return to schools.” There is no “acceptable” level of mortality which can be tolerated. The pandemic can and must be defeated, but the only effective and scientifically based strategy to save lives is one which is aimed at the eradication of COVID-19.

Sunday August 22
5:00 PM - 7:00pm US Eastern Time

Time zone Conversions:

San Francisco: 2pm, Sunday, August 22
Mexico City: 4pm, Sunday, August 22
London: 10pm, Sunday, August 22
Berlin: 11pm, Sunday, August 22
Istanbul: 12am, Monday, August 23
Mumbai: 2.30am, Monday, August 23
Beijing: 5am, Monday, August 23
Sydney: 7am, Monday, August 23
Auckland: 9am, Monday, August 23

Added to the calendar on Saturday Aug 21st, 2021 7:53 AM
We are 100% volunteer and depend on your participation to sustain our efforts!

Donate

donate now

$ 145.00 donated
in the past month

Get Involved

If you'd like to help with maintaining or developing the website, contact us.

Publish

Publish your stories and upcoming events on Indybay.

IMC Network