top
International
International
Indybay
Indybay
Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz
Indybay
Regions
Indybay Regions North Coast Central Valley North Bay East Bay South Bay San Francisco Peninsula Santa Cruz IMC - Independent Media Center for the Monterey Bay Area North Coast Central Valley North Bay East Bay South Bay San Francisco Peninsula Santa Cruz IMC - Independent Media Center for the Monterey Bay Area California United States International Americas Haiti Iraq Palestine Afghanistan
Topics
Newswire
Calendar
Features
From the Open-Publishing Calendar
From the Open-Publishing Newswire
Indybay Feature
View events for the week of 3/ 7/2021
150 years since the birth of Rosa Luxemburg
Date Sunday March 07
Time 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Event Type Meeting
Organizer/AuthorWorld Socialist Web Site
Location Details
International online streamed event.
March 5 marks the 150th birthday of Rosa Luxemburg, one of the towering revolutionary figures in history.

Luxemburg played a leading role in the Second International, and was the most important leader of the struggle waged by the revolutionary Marxist faction of the German Social Democratic Party (SPD) against Eduard Bernstein’s revisionism and the centrism of Karl Kautsky. During World War I, she fought together with Karl Liebknecht against the SPD’s war policy. Luxemburg played a critical role in the founding of the anti-war Spartacus League and the Communist Party of Germany. On January 15, 1919, she and Liebknecht were assassinated by right-wing Freikorp soldiers at the behest of the SPD in the midst of revolutionary struggles in Berlin.

This online event will examine Luxemburg’s role as Marxist theoretician and political leader, and discuss the significance of her immense historical legacy to the contemporary struggle to build a Marxist leadership of the international working class.

Sunday March 7
10:00 AM US Pacific Time
1:00 PM US Eastern Time

Time zone Conversions:

Mexico City: 12 PM, Sunday, March 7
London: 6 PM, Sunday, March 7
Berlin: 7 PM, Sunday, March 7
Istanbul: 9 PM, Sunday, March 7
Mumbai: 11:30 PM, Sunday, March 7
Beijing: 2 AM, Monday, March 8
Sydney: 5 AM, Monday, March 8
sm_rosa_luxemburg_1.jpg

Added to the calendar on Friday Mar 5th, 2021 11:33 AM
We are 100% volunteer and depend on your participation to sustain our efforts!

Donate

donate now

$ 240.00 donated
in the past month

Get Involved

If you'd like to help with maintaining or developing the website, contact us.

Publish

Publish your stories and upcoming events on Indybay.

IMC Network