top
Americas
Americas
Newswire
Calendar
Features
From the Open-Publishing Calendar
From the Open-Publishing Newswire
Indybay Feature
Related Categories: Americas | San Francisco
View other events for the week of 9/27/2019
El Rio
Date Friday September 27
Time 8:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Event Type Concert/Show
Organizer/AuthorBrava Theater Center
Location Details
Brava Theater Center
2781 24th Street
San Francisco, CA 94110
September 27 - October 20, Fridays & Saturdays 8pm, Sundays 3pm

Brava! for Women in the Arts with
Black Artists Contemporary Cultural Experience present the World Premiere of

El Rio

Written by Andrew Saito
Directed by Edris Cooper-Anifowoshe

September 27 - October 20, 2019
Friday, Saturday, Sunday

PERFORMANCES
Friday, September 27 - 8pm (Preview)
Saturday, September 28 - 8pm (Opening Night + After Party)
Sunday, September 29 - 3pm

Friday, October 4 - 8pm
Saturday, October 5 - 8pm
Sunday, October 6 - 3pm

Friday, October 11 - 8pm
Saturday, October 12 - 8pm
Sunday, October 13 - 3pm

Friday, October 18 - 8pm
Saturday, October 19 - 8pm
Sunday, October 20 - 3pm

Opening on the banks of the Rio Grande, El Rio tells the tale of Francisca Warrior, a Black-Seminole veteran who served time in Iraq, and her quest to honor her daughter's memory while trying to save the life of Rosario, an undocumented immigrant from Guatemala, who she meets at the border. El Rio gives voice to the Rio Grande, people living on both of its banks, as well as those souls stuck in between.

El Rio features a stellar cast of Bay Area actors that includes Carla Pantoja, Halili Knox, Laura Espino, and Eduardo Soria.

Please join us on Saturday, September 28 for the Opening Night of the World Premiere of Andrew Saito's El Rio! All ticket holders are invited to stay after the performance to celebrate the artists with a toast and light refreshments.

$20 - $35.

Added to the calendar on Tuesday Sep 3rd, 2019 6:53 PM

We are 100% volunteer and depend on your participation to sustain our efforts!

Donate

donate now

$ 124.00 donated
in the past month

Get Involved

If you'd like to help with maintaining or developing the website, contact us.

Publish

Publish your stories and upcoming events on Indybay.

IMC Network