top
Newswire
Calendar
Features
From the Open-Publishing Calendar
From the Open-Publishing Newswire
Indybay Feature
Related Categories: California | Central Valley | Government & Elections | Health, Housing & Public Services
Sacramento City Council expected to vote on rent control ordinance
by Lynda Carson (tenantsrule [at] yahoo.com)
Wednesday Jun 6th, 2018 3:25 PM
The City Council of Sacramento is expected to vote on an ordinance to establish a rent board, rent control, and just cause eviction protections during it’s meeting on June 12, or June 19!
Sacramento City Council expected to vote on rent control ordinance

Rent control is the solution to Sacramento’s affordable housing problems

By Lynda Carson — June 6, 2018

With the average rent in Sacramento skyrocketing to $1,490 per month as of May 2018, according to Rent Jungle, rent control is the solution to Sacramento’s affordable housing problems.

The City Council of Sacramento is expected to vote on an ordinance to establish a rent board, rent control, and just cause eviction protections during it’s meeting on June 12, or June 19.

Reportedly, Mayor Darrell Steinberg has decided to support a rent control ordinance, despite his recent opposition to rent control a few months ago.

The ’SACRAMENTO RENTER PROTECTION AND COMMUNITY STABILIZATION CHARTER AMENDMENT'

A different rent control measure in Sacramento, known as the ’Sacramento Renter Protection And Community Stabilization Charter Amendment’, was filed with the City Clerk’s office on February 20, 2018, by Californians for Community Engagement, Tenants Together, Sacramento Housing Alliance, Democratic Socialists of America, and Service Employee International Union. The Housing4Sacramento campaign needs to collect enough signatures by mid-June to qualify the measure for the ballot in November 2018. The Housing4Sacramento campaign may be reached at Housing4Sacramento [at] gmail.com .

Renters and supporters of rent control are urged to contact the City Council in Sacramento to tell them why rent control is the solution to Sacramento’s affordable housing problems!

How You Can Get Involved Now:

Contact the mayor and City Council to tell them rent control is the solution to Sacramento’s affordable housing problem!

Darrell Steinberg, Mayor:                   (916) 808-5300           dsteinberg [at] cityofsacramento.org

Angelique Ashby, District 1 Councilmember: (916) 808-7001           aashby [at] cityofsacramento.org

Allen Warren, District 2 Councilmember:      (916) 808-7002           awarren [at] cityofsacramento.org

Jeff Harris, District 3 Councilmember:           (916) 808-7003           jsharris [at] cityofsacramento.org

Steve Hansen, Vice Mayor, District 4: (916) 808-7004           shansen [at] cityofsacramento.org

Jay Schenirer, District 5 Councilmember       (916) 808-7005           jschenirer [at] cityofsacramento.org

Eric Guerra, District 6 Councilmember:          (916) 808-7006           eguerra [at] cityofsacramento.org

Rick Jennings III, District 7 Councilmember:  (916) 808-7007           rjennings [at] cityofsacramento.org

Larry Carr, District 8 Councilmember:            (916) 808-7008           lcarr [at] cityofsacramento.org


Meanwhile, big money opposes the repeal of the Costa-Hawkins Act, and the return of real rent control to California cities. Costa-Hawkins is the 1995 law that severely limits cities’ rent control options.

In addition to the huge political campaign battle taking place to repeal the Costa-Hawkins Act, there are presently rent control campaigns in ten California cities.

Presently, among the 10 rent control campaigns in Califorina, activists in Long Beach, and Pasadena failed to collect enough signatures for the November 2018 ballot.

Lynda Carson may be reached at tenantsrule [at] yahoo.com

>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>
LATEST COMMENTS ABOUT THIS ARTICLE
Listed below are the latest comments about this post.
These comments are submitted anonymously by website visitors.
TITLE AUTHOR DATE
Side Note About Darrell Sternberg & Sacramento City CouncilmembersLynda CarsonWednesday Jun 6th, 2018 5:43 PM