top
East Bay
East Bay
Indybay
Indybay
Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz
Indybay
Regions
Indybay Regions North Coast Central Valley North Bay East Bay South Bay San Francisco Peninsula Santa Cruz IMC - Independent Media Center for the Monterey Bay Area North Coast Central Valley North Bay East Bay South Bay San Francisco Peninsula Santa Cruz IMC - Independent Media Center for the Monterey Bay Area California United States International Americas Haiti Iraq Palestine Afghanistan
Topics
Newswire
Calendar
Features
From the Open-Publishing Calendar
From the Open-Publishing Newswire
Indybay Feature
Related Categories: East Bay | Immigrant Rights
View other events for the week of 5/15/2018
#DeportICE in Richmond!
Date Tuesday May 15
Time 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Event Type Press Conference
Organizer/AuthorOakland Privacy / DeportICE
Emailcontact [at] oaklandprivacy.org
Location Details
Richmond City Hall 440 Civic Center Plaza, Richmond, CA 94804, USA

"It is not enough to say we are a Sanctuary City. We must also act like one."

Deport ICE Richmond !

On May 15, the City of Richmond is going to vote on a sanctuary city law to prohibit contracts with ICE data brokers.Press Conference at 6pm. Council meeting starts at 6:30pm.

Bloomberg: CA Cities ICE Out Contractors Helping Feds Track Immigrants
LA Times: TechnologyTurns Our Cities Into Spies for ICE
SF Gate: Immigrant Activists Ask Livermore's Vigilant Solutions To End ICE Contract

In Richmond, the bill sponsors are Councilmember and AD 15 candidate Jovanka Beckles and Councilmember Ada Recinos.

This will be the first Deport ICE ordinance in the Bay Area, but more are coming in Alameda, Berkeley and Oakland.

We need to support our elected officials all over the Bay Area in standing up with our immigrant communities to the deportation machine.

Please come to the press conference Tuesday, May 15 at 6pm at Richmond City Hall and reach out to friends and colleagues.  You can RSVP on PeoplePower or on Facebook. Or just show up.

To write or call the Council Members :

Tom Butt, Mayor 510-620-6503  tom.butt@intres.com
Melvin Willis, Vice Mayor  510-412-2050  melvin_willis@ci.richmond.ca.us
Ben Choi  510-620-6565  ben_choi@ci.richmond.ca.us
Jovanka Beckles (sponsor) 510-620-6568  jovanka_beckles@ci.richmond.ca.us
Eduardo Martinez 510-620-6593  eduardo_martinez@ci.richmond.ca.us
Ada Recinos (sponsor) 510-620-5431  ada_recinos@ci.richmond.ca.us
Jael Myrick  510-620-6636 jael_myrick@ci.richmond.ca.us

#DeportICE is a coalition of advocacy groups striving to make sanctuary protections real in cities and counties across California.#DeportICE welcomes fellow advocacy groups to join the coalition and accepts submissions of information regarding additional data brokers for ICE. We have a Signal Tip Line set up for anonymous contributions.

Share your thoughts on our #DeportICE hashtag twitter feed. Join the conversation.

More details at www.deportice.org


Added to the calendar on Saturday May 12th, 2018 5:34 PM
We are 100% volunteer and depend on your participation to sustain our efforts!

Donate

donate now

$ 174.50 donated
in the past month

Get Involved

If you'd like to help with maintaining or developing the website, contact us.

Publish

Publish your stories and upcoming events on Indybay.

IMC Network