top
Santa Cruz IMC
Santa Cruz IMC
Newswire
Calendar
Features
From the Open-Publishing Calendar
From the Open-Publishing Newswire
Indybay Feature
View other events for the week of 4/14/2008
DERRICK JENSEN speaking at UCSC
Date Monday April 14
Time 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location Details
UC Santa Cruz Classroom Unit 2 see map and directions at: http://maps.ucsc.edu/cdclassroomunit.html
Event Type Speaker
Organizer/AuthorJoyce Rice
Emailjmrice [at] ucsc.edu
Phone831- 459-1714

On Monday night, Derrick Jensen will be speaking at UCSC, hosted by the Education for Sustainable Living Program (ESLP). The event will take place at Classroom Unit 2 and is open to the public.

Derrick Jensen is the bestselling author of A Language Older Than Words and Endgame. Author, teacher, activist, beekeeper, and leading voice of uncompromising dissent, he regularly stirs auditoriums across the country.

http://derrickjensen.org/

"We are members of the most destructive culture ever to exist. Our assault on the natural world, on indigenous and other cultures, on women, on children, on all of us through the possibility of nuclear suicide and other means--all these are unprecedented in their magnitude and ferocity."

So began my first book, Listening to the Land . Why do we act as we do? What are sane and effective responses to outrageously destructive behavior? What will it take for us to stop the horrors that characterize our way of being? My work and life revolve around these questions.

Praise for Derrick Jensen:

"Jensen has achieved the impossible: a book that is simultaneously horrifying and uplifting, terrifying and beautiful. I could not put it down."
- Frances Moore Lappé, author of Diet for a Small Planet

"A Language Older Than Words is what Franz Kafka said a book should be--an axe for the frozen sea within us. The reader should be advised that this is both high praise and sincere warning: Dangerous reading here. Proceed at your own risk."
- Daniel Quinn, author of Ishmael and Beyond Civilization

"The primordial language of the universe is the language expressed in the night sky, in the dawn and the sunset, in the flight of the eagle. It resonates in the song of the meadowlark, in the fragile bloom of the orchid. . . the mountains, the valleys and the rivers . . . and this book."
- Father Thomas Berry, author of The Dream of the Earth

"A rare and original voice of sanity in a chaotic world. He has wisdom and wit, grace and style, and is a wonderful guide to a good life beautifully lived."
- Howard Zinn

"Jensen's book accomplishes the rare feat of both breaking and mending the reader's heart."
- Publishers Weekly

"A Language Older than Words is must reading for anyone in the least concerned about the nature of our common future."
- Ward Churchill, author and activist

"...a gifted and lyrical writer on a wide range of critical issues. He is unrelenting in his commitment to the environment and justice."
- Winona Laduke

Books by Derrick Jensen:

Endgame vol. 1 & 2
Welcome to the Machine: Science, Surveillance, and the Culture of Control
Walking on Water: Reading, Writing, and Revolution
Strangely Like War: The Global Assault on Forests
The Culture of Make Believe
A Language Older than Words
Listening to the Land

derrick-books.jpg
Added to the calendar on Sunday Apr 13th, 2008 1:32 PM
§A review from Santa Cruz
by Jenn Sunday Apr 13th, 2008 1:34 PM
As an activist, writer, journalist, and philosopher, Derrick Jensen explores the complexities of violence, the nature of responsibility, and the power and necessity of expression.

Jensen is a new American voice, writing in the tradition of Henry David Thoreau, Rachel Carson, and Audrey Lorde. In his book, A Language Older Than Words, he examines how humans retreat into silence, denial, deception, and self-reproach in the face of deep injustice. In a series of essays, he relates his life experiences as a small farmer and bee-keeper, a creative writing instructor in a Federal prison, and as an activist opposing the logging industry and the decimation of wild salmon.

But underpinning his distinctive writing lies the fact that he was severely abused as a child by his father and that he has experienced the physically debilitating effects of Crohn's Disease. Jensen's radical honesty about personal and state violence, the decimation of human and natural resources, and the psychological and spiritual processes leading to change, are deeply relevant to understanding and acting in our changing world.

His speaking engagements in recent years have packed university auditoriums, bookstores, churches - you name the place. A typical Jensen event is multidimensional and feels a bit like traveling beneath the earth among tree roots, as they twist their way into soil, rock, river beds and accompany fish, insects, discarded tires, cellophane wrappers, animal minds, history, and human instinct on a strange and interlocking journey.

Speaking in an almost improvisational style, Jensen explores the nature of injustice, of what civilizations do to the natural world. Showing how, in the face of the resulting horror of grave injustice, civilized human beings create intricate systems of denial, silence, abnegation, deception and self-hatred that perpetuate our own social dysfunction.

He also reaches back to our collective childhoods, to the reality of magic in life, to discuss how nature has spoken to us and how we must remember all the conversations we’ve had with her and renew them. It’s his antidote to cynicism and apocalypse. That there is a language much older than the language we use daily, without being aware, to dispel the horrors of modern living and dying.

It is indeed a heart rending, mind expanding, and ultimately healing exercise to explore Jensen’s root system, with him not so much as a guide, but an experienced fellow traveler.

We are 100% volunteer and depend on your participation to sustain our efforts!

Donate

donate now

$ 77.00 donated
in the past month

Get Involved

If you'd like to help with maintaining or developing the website, contact us.

Publish

Publish your stories and upcoming events on Indybay.

IMC Network