top
San Francisco
San Francisco
Indybay
Indybay
Indybay
Regions
Indybay Regions North Coast Central Valley North Bay East Bay South Bay San Francisco Peninsula Santa Cruz IMC - Independent Media Center for the Monterey Bay Area North Coast Central Valley North Bay East Bay South Bay San Francisco Peninsula Santa Cruz IMC - Independent Media Center for the Monterey Bay Area California United States International Americas Haiti Iraq Palestine Afghanistan
Topics
Newswire
Calendar
Features
From the Open-Publishing Calendar
From the Open-Publishing Newswire
Indybay Feature
View other events for the week of 12/ 7/2006
Deep Water: The Epic Struggle Over Dams, Displaced People, and the Environment
Date Thursday December 07
Time 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Location Details
Modern Times Bookstore
Event Type Speaker
Organizer/AuthorModern Times Bookstore
Emailoffice [at] moderntimesbookstore.com
Phone415-282-9246
Address888 Valencia St., San Francisco, CA 94609
Discussion with author Jacques Leslie.

Deep Water offers an incisive, searching, and beautifully written account of the emerging crisis over dams and the world’s water. Reporting in the tradition of John McPhee and Peter Matthiessen, Jacques Leslie makes this crisis vivid through the stories of three figures: Medha Patkar, the world’s foremost anti-dam activist; Thayer Scudder, an American anthropologist; and Don Blackmore, an Australian water manager. Taking the reader to the sites of controversial dams—the Sardar Sarovar in India, the Kariba in Zambia, the Murray River weir system in Australia—Leslie shows why dams are at once the hope of developing nations and a blight on their people and landscape.

For a complete listing of events visit us online at moderntimesbookstore.com

EVENT BOOKS ARE 10% OFF.
MODERN TIMES IS WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE.
ALL EVENTS ARE FREE, OPEN TO THE PUBLIC, AND AT MODERN TIMES UNLESS OTHERWISE INDICATED.
Added to the calendar on Sunday Nov 26th, 2006 4:13 PM
We are 100% volunteer and depend on your participation to sustain our efforts!

Donate

Donate Now!

$ 127.00 donated
in the past month

Get Involved

If you'd like to help with maintaining or developing the website, contact us.

Publish

Publish your stories and upcoming events on Indybay.

IMC Network