top
From the Open-Publishing Calendar
From the Open-Publishing Newswire
Indybay Feature
Related Categories: Central Valley | Environment & Forest Defense
Stop Urban Adulticide Mosquito Spraying: Public Forum 8/22
by Dan Bacher (danielbacher [at] hotmail.com)
Monday Aug 22nd, 2005 11:24 AM
If you want to stop urban adulticide mosquito spraying in Yolo County, come to the public forum in Davis tonight. If you can't attend, then contact your public officials and urge them to not to spray.
SPEAK OUT to Support Safe and Effective Mosquito Control

Stop Urban Adulticide Mosquito Spraying

The Issue: Certain species of mosquito transmit West Nile Virus (WNV).  The Sacramento-Yolo Mosquito and Vector Control District began applying adulticides (pesticides to kill adult mosquitos as opposed to larva) by aerial and ground spraying in the urban areas of Sacramento County.  The District now plans to implement its adulticide spraying in the urbanized areas of Yolo County, including Davis and Woodland.  The pesticide being used for ground applications is Pyrenone 25-5:  5% pyrethrins, 25% piperonyl butoxide (PBO) 70% unknown.  According to EPA pyrethrins cause more insecticide poisonings than any other class of pesticides except one, and PBO is classified as a possible human carcinogen because it caused tumors and cancer in laboratory tests.  Pyrethrins disrupt the normal functioning of sex hormones while PBO affect the functioning of hormone related organs.

Public Forum Monday 8/22 7-9p.m. at the Veteran s Memorial Center 203 East 14th Street, Davis.  A forum to give the public a chance to get information, voice concerns and become updated on the issue without being silenced by the District. In Sacramento the District made it very clear that they had made the decision to spray and that the public was only there to have its fears quelled and not to give any public input.  WE want a voice

JOIN US AND SHOW YOUR OPPOSITION - ONLY UNITED CAN WE MAKE OUR VOICES HEARD
Stop West Nile Spraying Now 530 758-6796 or email smccarth [at] dcn.org to join our efforts
Website coming very soon: http://www.stopwestnilesprayingnow.org

Action Items, Contacts and Information Resources on back

CONTACT PUBLIC OFFICIALS and tell them you oppose ground and aerial adulticide spraying in urban areas, ask them to take a stand and direct the District end the urban assault.  Let them know we do not want spraying in Davis, including our schools, parks, greenbelts, grocery stores, etc... that we can't register to opt out public places.  It is their job to protect our public health and ensure public places are spray free.       

Sacramento-Yolo Mosquito and Vector Control District, District Manager David Brown 1800 429-1022

Davis City Council, City Manager, and City Clerk 757-5602
Ruth Asmundson 753-7884  rasmundson [at] ci.davis.ca.us
Sue Greenwald 756-5831  sgreenwald [at] ci.davis.ca.us
Ted Puntillo 750-5019, 681-8044 tpuntillo [at] ci.davis.ca.us
Don Saylor 758-0282  dsaylor [at] ci.davis.ca.us
Steve Souza 758-2964 ssouza [at] ci.davis.ca.us
Bette Racki City Clerk 7575604 bracki [at] ci.davis.ca.us
Jim Antonin City manager 757-5602jantonen [at] cityofdavis.org

Yolo County Board of Supervisors. 666-8195
mike.mcgowan 916 375-6440  mike.mcgowan [at] yolocounty.org 
helen.thomson 666-8622  helen.thomson [at] yolocounty.org  
mariko.yamada757-5554  mariko.yamada [at] yolocounty.org
frank sieferman 666-8621  fsieferman [at] yolocounty.org
duane chamberlain  666-8627  dchamberlain [at] yolocounty.org

County Public Health Officer  
Bette Hinton  bette.hinton [at] yolocounty.org 666-8645.
LATEST COMMENTS ABOUT THIS ARTICLE
Listed below are the latest comments about this post.
These comments are submitted anonymously by website visitors.
TITLE AUTHOR DATE
LOLBobTuesday Aug 23rd, 2005 2:58 PM
GAHGOOGOOTuesday Aug 23rd, 2005 4:32 AM
City of West SacramentoWS ResMonday Aug 22nd, 2005 3:13 PM