top
US
US
Newswire
Calendar
Features
From the Open-Publishing Calendar
From the Open-Publishing Newswire
Indybay Feature
Related Categories: U.S. | Arts + Action
View other events for the week of 4/ 1/2004
Poetry for the People
Date Thursday April 01
Time 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location Details
El Rio
3158 Mission
San Francisco
Event Type Other
Organizer/AuthorJoe Pachinko
Oakland native Joe Pachinko, writer and publisher of the underground publishing company Superstition Street Press, will read from his new book of poetry "The Urinals of Hell"

In the tradition of Bukowski, Pachinko's poetry is dirty, gritty, politically aware, and attuned to the hypocrisy inherent in modern U.S. culture. The poems roam from the Tenderloin to New Orleans, from Japan to the streets of Oakland where Pachinko grew up. Whether arguing with an SUV-driving, cellphone-wielding Berkeley Yuppie, or eulogizing a gay-bashing right at Ellis and O'Farrell, Pachinko's words are frightening, sarcastic, beautiful, and sometimes just damn funny. Come listen to the poetry no self-respecting poetry publisher would publish!

Earlier this year, Pachinko re-published the banned poetry book "The Love Book" in a limited edition letterpressed edition.
Added to the calendar on Tuesday Mar 23rd, 2004 10:27 AM

We are 100% volunteer and depend on your participation to sustain our efforts!

Donate

donate now

$ 97.00 donated
in the past month

Get Involved

If you'd like to help with maintaining or developing the website, contact us.

Publish

Publish your stories and upcoming events on Indybay.

IMC Network